Holberg Suite

Tony Fabre

Holberg Suite is a choreography by Tony Fabre inspired by the music of the Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg. Grieg’s music provides Fabre the ideal accompaniment to an abstract work in which the images roll by without a scripted link, granting the choreographer full freedom to create. The absence of sets makes the music and choreography the main characters of this journey. The work invites the spectators to clear their mind; to let themselves go in order to enjoy this creation.

  • World premiere by Compañía Nacional de Danza 2 (CND2): at Teatro Albéniz, Madrid (Spain), May 25th 2000
  • Premiere by Compañía Nacional de Danza (CND1): at Teatro Rojas, Toledo (Spain), March 2nd 2012

Edvard Grieg composed this score to celebrate the bicentennial of the birth of the Norwegian playwright Ludvig Holberg, also known as the Molière of the North. Grieg is the most famous Norwegian composer in history and the first Scandinavian composer to be universally recognised.


  • Choreography:
    Tony Fabre
  • Music:
    Edvard Grieg (1867-1907), Holberg Suite
  • Costume Design:
    Tony Fabre (with the collaboration of Ismael Aznar)
  • Lighting Design:
    Nicolás Fischtel (A.A.I.)
  • Running time:
    20 minutes
  • Premiere cast CND2:
    Natalia Rook, Rayco Cano, Marina Jiménez, Benoit Caussé, Raquel Rey, Miguel Ángel Bolo, Lucía Barbadillo, Vicente Palomo
  • Premiere cast CND1:
    Heejae Choi, Sandra Guenin, Jessica Lyall, Eva Boiro, Antonio de Rosa, Giuseppe Dagostino, Erez Ilan, Doron Perk