Juanjo Arqués y Heidi Vierthaler

Arqués & Vierthaler chose a philosophical study of daily human actions and emotions as their motivational crux. ‘Relationships’ played a key part in the movement concept, determined by a focus on opposites: develop – regress, freedom – boundaries, intimacy – distance, communication – silence, selfless – selfish, desire – repulsion, trust – betrayal.

  • World premiere by Compañía Nacional de Danza: at Las Naves del Español, Madrid (Spain), November 15th 2012

These difficult yet familiar actions/emotions were chosen as they determine sanity of mind and physical comfort, as well as the trauma that mankind can bequeath. Whether acknowledged or not, beneficial or otherwise, ‘relationships’ are what make individuals feel alive and necessary. That is what is explored in UNSOUND, through an unbounded movement-dialogue. This new work depicts the imbalance of society as a consequence of today’s uncertainty of life. To create this feature, Arqués analyses different behaviours of people facing difficult situations in their lives and the efforts they make to overcome them.


  • Choreography:
    Juanjo Arqués and Heidi Vierthaler in collaboration with the CND dancers
  • Music:
    Gavin Bryars, Ryuichi Sakamoto & Alva Noto, Andy Moor, Miguel Ángel Clerc
  • Set Design:
    Marc Koehler Architects
  • Costume Design:
    Juanjo Arqués
  • Lighting Design:
    Tatiana Reverto and Antonio Regalado Fernández
  • Assistants to the choreographers:
    Charlotte Chapelier and José Carlos Blanco
  • Running time:
    27 minutes
  • Premiere cast CND:
    Seh Yun Kim, Kayoko Everhart, Inês Pereira, Aleix Mañé, Francisco Lorenzo, Lucio Vidal, Isaac Montllor