Coming Together

Nacho Duato

The turbulent repetition of musical structures and recited text from Frederic Rzewski’s frantic composition provides the accompaniment and counterpoint to an abstract work by Nacho Duato, who uses his effervescence both to bring us closer to frenzy and hysterics, and as a contrast in his creation of oniric atmospheres.

  • World premiere by Compañía Nacional de Danza: at Teatro de la Zarzuela, Madrid (Spain), December 23rd 1991
  • Premiere by Compañía Nacional de Danza 2: at Teatro Principal, Alicante (Spain), January 31st 2003

Both phenomena appear alternately as well as simultaneously as could happen with the rhythms and sensations of a big city.
The result, of an obvious contemporary style, forces the spectator to focus his attention on the multiple changes of the choreographic process as well as on the system and structure of steps, rather than on the ordinary descriptive and narrative elements.
Frederic Rzewski’s piece entitled Coming Together and Attica, written for narrator and instruments, to be performed ad libitum in two parts, is of crucial importance in the history of repetitive music and not only because of its obvious influence on later pieces. Here the repetitive techniques and structuring are not an end in themselves, but the means of creating a coherent musical, dramatic world. While this piece – just like Rzewski’s other works – makes use of improvisation and repetition, it is also a committed work both in the social and the political sense. Rzewski managed to combine the political, ideological meaning of the text and the musical structure into a homogeneous whole by means of an original “minimal” idea.
The eight sentences from a letter by Sam Melville (a political prisoner killed in the 1971 Attica prison riots) are first narrated in an additive then in a deductive progression. The title of the piece is a reference to a sentence of the letter and to the technique of musical improvisation.


  • Choreography:
    Nacho Duato
  • Music:
    Frederic Rzewski (1938-2021). Coming Together
  • Set and Costume Design:
    Nacho Duato
  • Lighting Design:
    Nicolás Fischtel (A.A.I.)
  • Running time:
    17' 50''
  • Premiere cast:
    Catherine Allard, María Luisa Delgado, Jennifer Grissette, África Guzmán, Eva López Crevillén, France Nguyen, María Luisa Ramos, Yoko Taira, José Antonio Beguiristain, Marco Berriel, Eduardo Castro, Nacho Duato, Tony Fabre, César Augusto Moniz, Ángel Rodríguez, Jim Vicent
  • Premiere cast CND2:
    Andrea Méndez, Brian Corman, Inés Pereira, Rubén Ventoso, Marta López, Gabriel Blanco, Ericka Bouvard, Piotr Czubowicz, Ana Belén López, Nicolas Diego Massip, Débora Maiques, Héctor Torres